Rendering/Plastering – Building & Renovating – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

EI Banner

Rendering/Plastering

Community Member
Topic starter
(@grizzly)

I'm new to this so not sure if I'm in the right place for seeking advice, but here goes.

Have a place in central Portugal (near Tomar), that we'll be moving to permanently in the near future. I've got several outbuildings that I have plans for. The inside of all of my outbuildings are bare brick or cinderblock. My question is this - would I use the same or similar materials to plaster the insides of these buildings? (I'm not a builder but a competent and confident DIY'er). In similarly built outbuildings in the UK I have used a base coat of sand & cement (6-1 with plasticiser), then 2 coats of multi finish. In the house, depending on the conditions I'd either skim with multi finish or use plasterboard then a top coat.

Sorry this is a bit long winded, but can anyone offer some advice re products and method. Thanks in advance 

Grizzly 

8 Replies

Admin
(@astridff)

Hi Grizzly,

We are about to complete renovating one of our stone houses but had to rebuild one of the walls with bricks. On some walls we coated with concrete then painted and on others we put up plasterboard then painted. 

The house is small so where we just painting the concrete was to ensure we did not look more floor space (due to the walls being irregular), so from our experience, either would be fine.

Due to the location, dampness in winter was a concern so my husband (who is an architect) was keen to ensure the house was a "passive" as possible. Internal and external insulation was the most important thing, including putting down geo drains all around the house.

Not too sure if you are looking for more specific information... if so, let me know and I will ask my husband which products he chose to use.