Garlic-help required! – Gardening & Smallholding – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

Garlic-help required!

11 Posts
7 Users
4 Likes
VIP Member
Topic starter
(@ozchick)

Hello,

I'm sure there's someone out there who can help me.

I'm a newish but not novice gardener and I'm having problems with growing garlic.
Last year I planted cloves in February/March and they came up quickly producing 20-30cm high strong shoots. These remained green for a few months and then dried and shrivelled. I dug up the bulbs and found small spring garlic which were lovely but not what I was after.
Someone told me I should have planted them in autumn!
So this time I planted cloves toward the end of last year and again strong shoots were produced quickly but again they have now dried and shrivelled. I dug up a lovely plump spring bulb which when cut showed signs of cloves beginning to form and it was very delicious in my pasta sauce tonight but still not what I'm looking for!

My soil is wonderful. Not heavy clay nor sand, well draining but moisture retentive and I easily grow most other things! The plants haven't suffered from lack of water (a chance would be a fine thing!)
What am I doing wrong?

Help please!

10 Replies
2 Replies
Community Member
(@jackal)

Posted by: @ozchick

Hello,

I'm sure there's someone out there who can help me.

I'm a newish but not novice gardener and I'm having problems with growing garlic.
Last year I planted cloves in February/March and they came up quickly producing 20-30cm high strong shoots. These remained green for a few months and then dried and shrivelled. I dug up the bulbs and found small spring garlic which were lovely but not what I was after.
Someone told me I should have planted them in autumn!