Learning portugese & Spanish? – Learning the Language – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

• spartan Fx
  • Martinhall banner
  • Serenity Banner

Learning portugese & Spanish?

PamE
Premium Member
Topic starter
(@pje)
Eminent Member

I started learning Spanish almost 3 months ago using Duolingo as 3 of the possible retirement spots I was considering were Spanish speaking countries. As I’ve done more research everything points to Portugal. I am probably 3 years or so away from retiring. I do plan to visit next fall. Would be I be better off continuing Spanish & then switching to portugese ( I know I’d need something other then Duolingo as it’s Brazilian portugese) or will it be better to switch to portugese now? Or learn both at once? I’m not sure how long it takes to learn - I’m spending roughly 20 hours/ week on Spanish now. 

6 Replies

Admin
(@astridff)

Welcome to the forum.

In my opinion, if you plan on living in Portugal, switch to European Portuguese. Although there are some similarities between Spanish and Portuguese, there are a lot of differences too. Unless you are a language-learning master, I would focus on the one you will need once here.

Portuguese is a very difficult language and I am not great at learning languages. I have lived here since 2012, married to a Portuguese man, kids speak Portuguese yet I still struggle. 

4 Replies
 PamE
Premium Member
(@pje)

Eminent Member

@astridff thanks so much for your answer! I think I will switch over & start learning portugese. I’m hoping to visit next fall & it would be nice to know at least a little. Learning Spanish was nice as I have 2 coworkers who speak Spanish to practice on 🙂, but I really think my future is going to be in Portugal

Ask Our Expats Consultant
(@cabanastavira)

I would certainly start on portuguese - right decision IMHO.