Hey all. Pleased to meet you. – New Members - Start Here – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

• Wow Wines Banner
  • spartan Fx

Hey all. Pleased to meet you.

Page 1 / 2

Community Member
Topic starter
(@shoesonwires)

I'm Justus, from Vancouver, BC. Heard about this place on Good Morning Portugal (thanks, Carl) and thought I would have a look. Looks good. 😀 

I have fallen back in love with Portugal over the course of the lockdown, using a lot of extra time to start a website. My family and I will be moving to Portugal one day - working on a Five Year Plan -and the website catalogs my attempt to prepare for that eventual move. I'm just learning as much as I can and writing about it as I go. I have a huge soft spot in my heart for the Algarve, as that's mostly where I have visited (also Lisbon), and if the cards play out that way I have located some spots there that are very appealing to me. Bensafrim, for example, keeps popping up for me, and I'm also looking a lot more at the Eastern Algarve, especially Tavira. The whole Rio Formosa basin fascinates me. Central Portugal  is also very attractive, for financial reasons as much as the landscape. Pedrógão Grande in particular has caught my attention.

Our family consists of me, my wife Lisa, and our two boys Alex (14) and Rowan (11). By the time we move, Alex will be old enough to make his own choices, but Rowan will be with us. He has Downs and Autism, so he will be living with us for as long as possible. I would be very interested to hear from anyone who has experience living with a disabled person in Portugal, from both a cultural and bureaucratic perspective.

I'm looking forward to getting to know you. Take it easy!

- Justus

8 Replies

Anonymous