Newbie here - from USA – New Members - Start Here – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

Newbie here - from USA

Page 1 / 2

Community Member
Topic starter
(@dolfandoug)
Eminent Member

Bom dia! My name is Doug and I live in Alabama in the USA. 50+ in age, not retired yet. 

My wife and I visited mainland Portugal in 2018 and fell in love with it. We started in Lisbon and headed South to the Algarve including a stop in Zambujeira do Mar for the MEO Festival.

We visited Terceira in the Azores in 2019. We enjoyed it and would like to visit Sao Miguel next time we go to the Azores.

Had a fantastic trip to Spain and Portugal planned for 2020 (Douro Valley/Porto mainly) but you know the rest of the story. 

Seriously considering an eventual move to Portugal. We need to visit more first and unfortunately that is on hold until maybe 2022 or late 2021.

18 Replies

Premium Member
(@livinginusa)
Trusted Member

Welcome @dolfandoug , lots of good information and great people here.  I currently live in NC and considering a move to Portugal.  We have our first trip planned for September to investigate a few areas.

Get all your questions answered.  Good luck in your Journey.....

6 Replies
Community Member
(@jeanne)

Estimable Member

@livinginusa. Would any USA members on the Forum be willing to share their thoughts (and plans) on what they intend to do after their 10 year NHR period expires and they are subject to standard PT tax rates?  Would you return to the USA or do you think that the quality of life and health care benefit make it worthwhile to stay on in PT even without the NHR status?

Premium Member
(@livinginusa)

Trusted Member