Buying Portugal property through UK company – Non EU Folk – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Buying Portugal pro...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

Buying Portugal property through UK company

7 Posts
4 Users
4 Likes
Community Member
Topic starter
(@kate1)

Hi,  I'm thinking of buying an investment property in Portugal to move to in around 10 years. Until then I will stay and work in the UK.

Because of the tax advantages to uk higher rate taxpayers on property income  I'm thinking of buying it through my uk ltd company (in which I already have a uk rental property). Will Portugal be OK with this, or will it incur horrendous tax / bureaucracy and be better to buy as an individual?

I am also a portuguese non habitual resident.

Can anyone advise or recommend sources of guidance (free or paid)? Thanks!

Topic Tags
6 Replies
3 Replies
VIP Member
(@x-camone)

I am also a portuguese non habitual resident.

Hi, and welcome to the forum from me.

This isn't an answer to your question, I'm afraid, but it is something it might be best to be absolutely clear on from your point of view.

Non-habitual residency has a very specific meaning in Portugal - it is a tax status conferring various potential benefits which is only available to new residents and applies for a maximum period of 10 years, non-renewable. The main criteria for eligibility are 1) that you have transferred your residence to Portugal and 2) that you have not been tax resident in Portugal in any of the previous 5 years.

Although it is possible to have acquired the status and subsequently departed, suspending the application of NHR but with the option of resuming the status should you return within any of the remaining 10 years counting from the start date, it seems unlikely from what you have said that that applies to you.