Income tax plus self employment tax – Non EU Folk – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Income tax plus sel...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

• Serenity Banner
  • spartan Fx

Income tax plus self employment tax

Page 1 / 2

Community Member
Topic starter
(@mjoakland)

Hi, I am an Independent Contractor and I'm thinking of a move to Portugal. I am confused about information I am finding about tax rates.  As a self-employed person am I required to pay both the standard income tax at 48% PLUS another 21% for self-employment?  And then I also will have to pay into the Social security and healthcare. If I have to pay all this I'm not sure I will  have any money left at the end of the day.  Can someone please explain the two types of taxes - income and self-employment?  Do I have to pay BOTH on my income? 

9 Replies

Community Member
(@andrew_za)

This is how I understand it - being a new-ish arrival in a similar position and how I have been advised by 3 accountants in Portugal. This is not tax advise.

48% is the maximum tax bracket - annual income over 75000 Euro. In my opinion the tax brackets in Portugal are high considering the low incomes that are required to fit into these high brackets. The pros of living in this wonderful country and worth the trade off in my situation - it may not be for others / yours.