Possible to get a NIF and open a Bank Account while in US? – Non EU Folk – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Possible to get a N...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either log in or register to join in the conversation.

If you are a forum member from the old site and have not reset your password yet, please click on "Lost your password?" on the login page.

Ei! Migration Banner

Possible to get a NIF and open a Bank Account while in US?  

Page 1 / 2

Premium Member
(@livinginusa)

Hello All,

I am very new to the whole process of considering retirement in Portugal.  I have done a bit of reading all around but have not been able to come up with a concrete answer as to whether or not I can obtain a NIF and open a Bank Account while in the US without visiting Portugal first?  Covid restrictions, etc are unfortunately delaying the opportunity of visiting in the foreseeable future.

Thanks in advance.........

7 Replies
1 Reply
VIP Member
(@christopherdouglas)

Estimable Member
Posted by: @livinginusa

Hello All,

I am very new to the whole process of considering retirement in Portugal.  I have done a bit of reading all around but have not been able to come up with a concrete answer as to whether or not I can obtain a NIF and open a Bank Account while in the US without visiting Portugal first?  Covid restrictions, etc are unfortunately delaying the opportunity of visiting in the foreseeable future.

Thanks in advance.........

Hi, welcome 👍

You can only obtain a NIF (Portuguese Tax Number) if you live, in Portugal. You have to have a Portuguese address.

After that, you can open a bank account.

You do not need a NIF or a Bank Account to visit Portugal and look for a property.

So, visit when you can.

Which may be a while the way that Trump is going 😄

Admin
(@gerry)
Reputable Member

Hello @livinginusa