A warm house in Portugal? - Page 2 – Property & Real Estate – Expats Portugal Community Forum

learn portuguese

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

A warm house in Portugal?

Page 2 / 4

VIP Member
Topic starter
(@portofakiwi)
Estimable Member

Another damp cold winter almost over, and no more for me in my current house. It's just too cold and damp, bad heating in only two rooms and damp and unpleasant.

However I can't find a house to buy after a few years of looking as it doesn't seem to be possible to buy a house with good insulation, and all room heating that actually works where you can get 23 degrees inside on a winter night. (For a reasonable price - and semi rural, no close neighbours etc)

If you have a warm toasty house can you please let me know as I'm losing hope!

48 Replies

Admin
(@gerry)
Reputable Member

I am no expert but my house is well insulated, warm (underfloor heating) and free of damp. It was built 7 years ago by a local builder and has a B+ energy rating. 

At the time I was looking to buy in 2016, I also considered 2 brand new houses also built by a local and these were super efficient with A+ energy ratings.

So, warm insulated houses are out there albeit you need to look for recent or new builds. 

I believe there is also a technique where older houses can be insulated from the outside with some sort of spray on insulation which never needs painting. I know several people who have had this done and swear by it.  

1 Reply
Community Member
(@jeanne)

Trusted Member