Moving to Portugal – Visas, Residency & Citizenship – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

Moving to Portugal

Community Member
Topic starter
(@idansh)

Hi everyone, this is my first post on the forum.

My name is Idan. I am an Israeli resident and Portuguese citizen, currently in Portugal.

My question is about taxation. I have a Portuguese citizen card and Portuguese passport which I received around a year ago, so I am a new Portugese citizen.

From my understanding, if I stay in Portugal for more than 183 days I automatically become a tax-payer resident. Is it true? I don't own a house nor I work in Portugal (I work from home via the Internet). Or I can stay in Portugal for more than that without paying taxes if I don't own a house and not work in the country?

I might have more questions but this is the most important one to start with.

Thank you.

4 Replies

VIP Member
(@x-camone)
Noble Member

Hi, and welcome to the forum from me.

Yes, it's correct that the primary test for whether one is tax resident in any given year is as you state.

Under those circumstances you would be required to declare income from all sources worldwide, along with any tax paid abroad, to the PT tax authorities.

Community Member
Topic starter
(@idansh)

Thank you. But this means that I only need to declare my income abroad or pay taxes in Portugal as well even with a dual tax agreement between the two countries, which exists so there would be no double taxation. OR I just pay the taxes in Israel and declare those?

1 Reply
VIP Member
(@x-camone)

Noble Member

@idansh

It depends.

The DTA determines which country has the primary claim to tax, and it isn't necessarily where the income arises - it's more usually paid in the country of residence.