Transferring ownership of a car – Cars, Transport & Getting Around – Expats Portugal Community Forum
Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Please feel free to view our Forum, but you must either LOGIN or REGISTER to join in the conversation.

Transferring ownership of a car

9 Posts
6 Users
12 Likes
 Mads
Community Member
Topic starter
(@mads)

Hi All, Hope the sun is shining there whatever part you are in - I am looking for some advice on car selling/ transferring.

I visit P three or four times a year and like to have a car to get around. Renting is a pain. I want to buy a runaround and keep it parked at my friend's garage. As far as I can gather, to do this, I need to get a NIF, which would be ok I guess because being a non tax resident, I wouldn't have yearly tax returns costs etc, I really don't need all that.

My friend has a house there, owned by a offshore company he had to buy to get the house, and has offered to have the car transferred into the company and then I would be able to drive it by just having my driver's licence.

I don't know much about offshore companies and Portuguese tax etc but I imagine plenty of tourists have places there done in such ways. I don't want to get my friend into trouble and don't know much about the process in general, but not warming to the NIF idea either (maybe will be other fiscal obligations )...

Any advice very welcome!

8 Replies

VIP Member
(@jonesdn2020)

No sunshine here. Lots of rain. You do need a NIF to buy the car if I remember correctly. Then comes whether you need a fiscal rep. If your friend is a resident he could be your rep. Not much else unless you get flagged as crossing some boundary on time or circumstances that PT could flag you as a tax resident  

Transferring the ownership is out of my realm. Not sure about the taxes etc. 

Community Member
(@martin)

offshore companies...many have the scars on their back with those things